Competing Orders in Functional Materials and their Applications



Alexander Balatsky (Nordita), Anders Rosengren (KTH), Avadh Saxena (Los Alamos National Laboratory), John Hertz (Nordita, NBI), Stephen Powell (Nordita)


Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden


This workshop will focus on highlights of materials and engineering capabilities at Los Alamos, KTH and Nordita in the field of complex materials that are of great scientific interest for basic science and for nuclear energy applications. From the perspective of basic science we will discuss strong electronic correlations along with strong coupling to multiple degrees of freedom. Theoretical understanding of the role of inhomogeneity, coupling to spin and lattice degrees of freedom and competition between different phases in these materials is a crucial missing step in developing predictive materials modeling. Workshop will advance our understanding of the fundamental physical processes that determine nanoscale inhomogeneity and coupling between various degrees of freedom in correlated electronic materials. From the applications perspective workshop will pursue two related topics: i) discussion on current understanding of the interactions of defects at interfaces in materials subjected to extreme radiation doses and mechanical stress in order to synthesize new interface-dominated materials with tailored response under such extreme conditions. ii) issues of safety in applications of nuclear energy. Workshop will discuss desired understanding of sciences and technology requirements for sustainable and reliable nuclear power programs, to have a buy-in from the society. Discussion will be focused on considering nuclear power programs in societal and economical context.


Invited Participants (to be confirmed)

  • Alan Bishop
  • Galina Balatsky Nuclear Materials and Human Factors
  • Robert Ecke, Center for Nonlinear Studies
  • Matthias Graf, Dynamic Electronic Correlation Effects in Actinides
  • Quanxi Jia, Thin Films and Interfaces
  • Stuart Malloy, Structural materials
  • Charles Mielke, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
  • Michael Miller, Nuclear Energy Program
  • David Morris, Center for Integrated Nanotechnology
  • Filip Ronning, Correlated electron materials, experiments.
  • John Sarrao, Materials-Radiation Interactions in Extremes
  • Avadh Saxena, Functional Materials
  • Antoinette Taylor, Ultrafast Optics
  • Jian-Xin Zhu, Emergent Phenomena at Interfaces
  • Peter Gudmundson
  • Anatoli Belonoshko
  • B. Birgsson
  • R. Wyss
  • A. Delin
  • J. Akerman
  • Stanislav Borysov
  • B. Johansson
  • David Haviland, Scanned Probes
  • U. Karlsson
  • V. Korenivski, Spintronics
  • Francesco Mancarella
  • Oscar Tjernberg, Time-Resolved ARPES
  • Mats Wallin
  • J. Wallenius
  • Henryk Anglart
  • Sevostian Bechta
  • Lars van Dasssen, SSM*
  • T. Jonter, SU*
  • J. Lodding, Dept of Nonproliferation, Regeringskansliet *
  • Ole Eriksson (Uppsala)
  • Mattias Klintenberg (Uppsala)
  • P. Hofman (Aarhus)
  • C. Marcus (NBI)
  • Anica Black-Shaffer (Uppsala)


If you want to apply for participation in the workshop, please fill in the application form. You will be informed by the organizers shortly after the application deadline whether your application has been approved. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is strictly limited. (Invited speakers are of course automatically approved, but need to register anyway.)

Application deadline: 1 May 2013

There is no registration fee.


Nordita provides a limited number of rooms in the Stockholm apartment hotel BizApartments free of charge for accepted workshop participants.

Sponsored by:

Nordita Swedish Research Council Los Alamos National Laboratory