Origin, Evolution, and Signatures of Cosmological Magnetic Fields

132:028 (Nordita, Stockholm)


Nordita, Stockholm

Axel Brandenburg (Nordita), Tanmay Vachaspati (Arizona State University), Tina Kahniashvili (Mc Williams Center for Cosmology and Department of Physics, Carnegie-Mellon University)
Week 4 Focus: Magnetized structures



Week 1 Focus: Observations, observational tools, prospects.
Week 2: Conference (Monday-Thursday).
Week 3 Focus:  MHD in cosmology and origin of Magnetic Fields
Week 4 Focus: Magnetized structures
We plan to have morning discussion sessions on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday of each week. The discussion will be on a topic within the week’s focus and will be led by an expert. In addition, we plan to have 2 seminars (Tuesday and Thursday) per week.

[Timetable for Program - available from start of the program]

Timetable for Conference Week [pdf]


If you want to apply for participation in the program, please fill in the application form. You will be informed by the organizers shortly after the application deadline whether your application has been approved. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is strictly limited. (Invited speakers are of course automatically approved, but need to register anyway.)

Application deadline: 15 December 2014

A minimum stay of one working week is required and we encourage participants to stay for a period of at least two weeks.

There is no registration fee.

Travel Reimbursement

PhD students and young Postdoc fellows are eligible for travel grants to participate in the program. If you are interested in such a grant, please mark the corresponding field in the application form, briefly summarize your interest in the program in the comments field, and indicate an estimation of your expected travel expenses. Since only a limited number of grants is available, decision concerning the grants will be made on a case-by-case basis and you will be notified shortly after the application deadline.


Nordita provides a limited number of rooms in the Stockholm apartment hotel BizApartments free of charge for accepted program participants.

Sponsored by:

Nordita Swedish Research Council

  • Alex Clarke
  • Alex Hill
  • Alexander Dolgov
  • Alexander Ford
  • Alexander Schekochihin
  • Alexander Tevzadze
  • Alexey Boyarsky
  • Alhashmi Darah
  • Andrew Long
  • Andrey Beresnyak
  • Andrey Saveliev
  • Anna Williams
  • Anupam Mazumdar
  • Arun Pandey
  • Axel Brandenburg
  • Bharat Ratra
  • Bryan Gaensler
  • Cathy Horellou
  • Chiara Caprini
  • Chris Hales
  • Christopher Herron
  • Cormac Purcell
  • Craig Anderson
  • Dario Grasso
  • David Mulcahy
  • Denis Wittor
  • Dhrubaditya Mitra
  • Dimitar Vlaykov
  • Dongsu Ryu
  • Dumitriu Ana Elena
  • Emil Lenc
  • Evangelia Ntormousi
  • Fabio Finelli
  • Federico Stasyszyn
  • Francesc Ferrer
  • Gabriella Piccinelli
  • Giuseppe Di Bernardo
  • Glennys Farrar
  • Guangxing Li
  • Günter Sigl
  • Hector Javier Hortua Orjuela
  • Hiroyuki Tashiro
  • Igor Rogachevskii
  • Jamie Farnes
  • Jane Kaczmarek
  • Jean-Baptiste Durrive
  • Jean-François Robitaille
  • Jennifer Schober
  • JinLin Han
  • Jungyeon Cho
  • Justin Bray
  • Kandaswamy Subramanian
  • Karsten Jedamzik
  • Katharina Sendlinger
  • Katia Ferriere
  • Kerstin Kunze
  • Kunwar Alkendra Pratap Singh
  • Letjatji Samuel Legodi
  • Levon Pogosian
  • Luiz Felippe Rodrigues
  • Luiz Garcia de Andrade
  • Luke Chamandy
  • Mairi McKay
  • Mathieu Langer
  • Michael Kachelriess
  • Mindaugas Karciauskas
  • Moritz Linkmann
  • Muhammad Fraz Bashir
  • Niels Oppermann
  • Nishant Singh
  • Oleg Ruchayskiy
  • Patrick Adams
  • Pranjal Trivedi
  • Preshanth Jagannathan
  • Rajeev Kumar Jain
  • Ravinder Goyal
  • Reinhard Schlickeiser
  • Riona Ramraj
  • Robi Banerjee
  • Sabrina COUDRY
  • Santanu Mondal
  • Sarrvesh Seethapuram Sridhar
  • Sergei Vafin
  • Shailendra K Rathor
  • Shane O'Sullivan
  • Sokoloff Dmitry
  • Subhendra Mohanty
  • Sui Ann Mao
  • Takeshi Kobayashi
  • Takuya Akahori
  • Taliya Sahihi
  • Tanmay Vachaspati
  • Teymur Saifollahi
  • Tina Kahniashvili
  • Tomi Koivisto
  • Tuhin Ghosh
  • Ulrich Kolberg
  • Victor Semikoz
  • Victoria Merten
  • Wenlei Chen
  • Xun Shi