Black Holes and Emergent Spacetime

122:026 (Nordita, Stockholm)


Nordita, Stockholm

Bo Sundborg, Lárus Thorlacius, Monica Guica, Niels Obers


Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden


This Nordita Program will develop two interrelated themes to provide new insights into the underlying holographic structure of space-time and the quantum nature of black holes. We will focus on the interplay between quantum entanglement, entropy and the emergence of space-time from quantum field theory in the context of holographic dualities. A parallel theme involves extending the notion of holographic duality to more general classes of space-times. Widening the scope of the holographic paradigm will open up new avenues for applied holography and may shed light on some deep puzzles in quantum cosmology. The program aims at bringing together experts in this exciting research field and introduce PhD students and younger researchers to these developments.

[Timetable - available from start of the program]


There will be typically one or two talks per day, leaving ample time for interaction and collaboration. At the start of each week a pedagogical introductory lecture is planned on one of the central topics. A conference with a full schedule of talks will take place on August 17-20.


If you want to apply for participation in the program, please fill in the application form. You will be informed by the organizers shortly after the application deadline whether your application has been approved. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is strictly limited.

Application deadline: March 31, 2016

A minimum stay of one working week is required and participants are encouraged to stay for a period of at least two weeks. The minimum stay rule does not apply if you are only attending the conference on August 17-20, but in that case you should not register here but rather on the conference homepage.

Please note that registered program participants, whose stay includes August 17-20, do not need to separately register for the conference.

There is no registration fee.

Travel Reimbursement

PhD students and Postdoctoral fellows are eligible for travel grants to participate in the program. If you are interested in such a grant, please mark the corresponding field in the application form, briefly summarize your research interests in the place provided, and indicate in the comments field an estimate of your expected travel expenses. Since only a limited number of travel grants is available, decision concerning the grants will be made on a case-by-case basis and you will be notified shortly after the application deadline.


Nordita provides a limited number of rooms in the Stockholm apartment hotel BizApartments free of charge for accepted participants.

Sponsored by:

The Oskar Klein Centre Knut och Alice Wallenbergs Stiftelse DFF

  • Achilleas Passias
  • Achilleas Porfyriadis
  • Albion Lawrence
  • Amanda Peet
  • Amit Dekel
  • Andrea Puhm
  • Andrei Parnachev
  • Arash Arabi Ardehali
  • Atish Dabholkar
  • Atreya Chatterjee
  • Ayan Mukhopadhyay
  • Ben Craps
  • Ben Freivogel
  • Bengt EW Nilsson
  • Bert Vercnocke
  • Blaise Goutéraux
  • Bo Ning
  • Bo Sundborg
  • Charlotte Kristjansen
  • Chiara Toldo
  • Cynthia Keeler
  • Dan Kabat
  • Daniel Jafferis
  • David Lowe
  • David Turton
  • Debajyoti Sarkar
  • Dionysios Anninos
  • Edgar Shaghoulian
  • Erik Tonni
  • Esko Keski-Vakkuri
  • Finn Larsen
  • Gary Horowitz
  • Gilad Lifschytz
  • Guido Festuccia
  • Henrik Johansson
  • Herman Verlinde
  • Hui Zeng
  • Ioannis Papadimitriou
  • Irene Amado
  • Irina Galstyan
  • Jarkko Järvelä
  • Jay Armas
  • Jelle Hartong
  • Jere Remes
  • Jia-Rui Sun
  • Jonathan Lindgren
  • Jorma Louko
  • Juan Jottar
  • Juan Pedraza
  • Julius Engelsöy
  • Kento Watanabe
  • Konstantin Zarembo
  • Kostas Skenderis
  • Kyriakos Papadodimas
  • Laraña Aragón Jorge
  • Larus Thorlacius
  • Luigi Tizzano
  • Luis Apolo
  • Manuela Kulaxizi
  • Manus Visser
  • Marika Taylor
  • Masanori Hanada
  • Matin Mojaza
  • Michal Heller
  • Mirjam Cvetic
  • Monica Guica
  • Muund Rangamani
  • Nabil Iqbal
  • Netta Engelhardt
  • Nicholas Halmagyi
  • Nico Wintergerst
  • Niels Obers
  • Niko Jokela
  • Paolo Di Vecchia
  • Pawel Caputa
  • Phillip Szepietowski
  • Robert Jefferson
  • Sabine Hossenfelder
  • Sean Gray
  • Sebastian Fischetti
  • Sergey Solodukhin
  • Sergio Camilo Vargas Avila
  • Simon Ross
  • Souvik Banerjee
  • Stefan Sjörs
  • Stefan Vandoren
  • Suvendu Giri
  • Suvrat Raju
  • Timo Alho
  • Tobias Zingg
  • Troels Harmark
  • Uri Kol
  • Valentina Giangreco Puletti
  • Veronika Hubeny
  • Watse Sybesma
  • Yang Lei
  • Yen Chin Ong
  • Zhang-Yu Nie