Aug 18 – 23, 2014
Nordita, Stockholm
Europe/Stockholm timezone


Stockholm – home of Nordita

Scope of the conference

Research on engineered quantum states and devices is progressing rapidly. While the basic motivation draws from the wish to understand the coherence and correlation effects featured by these states, the prospects to use them for processing and storing quantum information has given the field an additional boost. Examples span proposals for protected qubits in hybrid systems containing Dirac materials to novel designs for quantum simulators using laser-manipulated trapped ions. Vigorous research efforts push the frontier relentlessly, however, much of the activity in the field is fragmented and often narrowly focused on a particular design, concept, or type of system. The Nordita Conference on Quantum Engineering of States and Devices, 18 - 23 August 2014 aims at furthering interactions among researchers working in different subfields of quantum engineered systems, offering an "interdisciplinary" forum where people can come together, exchange ideas, and start collaborating across boundaries.

Timetable - available from start of the conference

The conference is part of the Nordita scientific program Quantum Engineering of States and Devices, 11 August - 5 September 2014.

Invited speakers

Ian Affleck (University of British Columbia)
Alexander Altland (Universität zu Köln)
Eva Andrei (Rutgers University)
Natan Andrei (Rutgers University)
Eddy Ardonne (Stockholm University)
Jens Bardarson (MPIPKS, Dresden)
Abolfazl Bayat (University College London)
Emil Bergholtz (Freie Universität Berlin)
Daniel Burgarth (Aberystwyth University)
Adan Cabello (Universidad de Sevilla)
Pasquale Calabrese (Universita' di Pisa)
David Campbell (Boston University)
Per Delsing (Chalmers University of Technology)
Eugene Demler (Harvard University)
Jens Eisert (Freie Universität Berlin)
Lara Faoro (LPTHE)
Rosario Fazio (Scuola Normale Superiore)
Michael Freedman (Station Q)
Leonid Glazman (Yale University)
Duncan Haldane (Princeton University) to be confirmed
Moty Heiblum (Weizmann Institute)
Lev Ioffe (LPTHE and Rutgers University)
Roman Jackiw (MIT)
Dieter Jaksch (Oxford University)
Vladimir Korepin (Stony Brook University)
Peter Krûger (University of Nottingham)
Karyn Le Hur (Ecole Polytechnique)
Charles Marcus (University of Copenhagen)
Christophe Mora (Ecole Normale Supérieure)
Cristiane Morais Smith (Utrecht University)
Michael Pepper (University College London)
So-Young Pi (Boston University)
Hubert Saleur (University of Southern California)
Dirk Schuricht (Utrecht University)
Gordon Semenoff (University of British Columbia)
Michelle Simmons (University of New South Wales)
Ady Stern (Weizmann Institute)
Jacob Taylor (NIST)
Philipp Treutlein (Universität Basel)
Andrea Trombettoni (SISSA)
Paolo Zanardi (University of Southern California)


Sougato Bose (University College London)
Reinhold Egger (Heinrich-Heine Universität)
Henrik Johannesson (University of Gothenburg)
Pasquale Sodano (International Institute of Physics, Natal)


To apply for the conference, please go to the application page. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is strictly limited. Therefore, early application is strongly advised! You will be informed by the organizers shortly after the application deadline whether your application has been approved.

Application deadline: 7 May, 2014

Conference fee: €80 (covers lunches, welcome drink, coffee/tea/refreshments, conference program, etc.).

Sponsored by:

Nordita Swedish Research Council STINT

Nordita, Stockholm
Svedbergsalen (FD5)