What is the Dark Matter?

132:028 (Nordita, Stockholm)


Nordita, Stockholm

Jan Conrad (Stockholm University), Joakim Edsjö (Stockholm University), Lars Bergström (Stockholm University), Timur Delahaye (Stockholm University)


Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden


The nature of Particle Dark Matter is one of the most important outstanding problems in modern physics. Experiments attacking this problem, not the least the experiments at the LHC, have recently become operational, thus the quest for answering the question “What is Dark Matter?” enters a new phase, where the many theoretical ideas can be confronted with data.

Many of the models predicting Dark Matter candidates exhibit high dimensional parameter spaces with many degeneracies and (depending on the probe) expected backgrounds are not very well constrained. Thus, a combination of all experimental data available will likely be necessary to arrive at robust conclusions regarding the nature of dark matter. The aim of the proposed program is to bring together experimentalists, phenomenologists and model builders in order to discuss ideas, methods and models for interpreting the vast amount of data which will be available by 2014.


A minimum stay of one working week is expected from all participants. The format will be organized around presentations in the morning (maximally one or two talks will be scheduled per day), informal discussions, and ample free time for joint project work.

There will be a separate short workshop dedicated to the presentation of latest results. This will be organized 12-14 May, and all participants are kindly invited to join. Registration for this meeting will be announced on a separate webpage. A registration fee will be charged for participation.

More practical details on both the scientific and social program will be posted closer to the starting date of the meeting.


If you want to apply for participation in the program, please fill in the registration form. You will be informed by the organizers shortly after the application deadline whether your application has been accepted. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is strictly limited.

Application deadline: 10 February 2014

Note that a minimum stay of one working week is required and we encourage participants to stay for a period of at least two weeks.

There is no registration fee for participation in the program.

Travel Reimbursement

PhD students and young Postdocs may be eligible for travel grants to participate in the program. If you are interested in such a grant, please mark the corresponding field in the application form, briefly summarize your interest in the program in the comments field, and give an estimate of your expected travel expenses. Since only a limited number of grants is available, decision concerning the grants will be made on a case-by-case basis and you will be notified of this shortly after the application deadline.


Nordita provides a limited number of rooms in the Stockholm apartment hotel BizApartments which are free of charge for program participants. Please indicated your interest in this accommodation when filling the registration form.


Nordita Swedish Research Council

  • Alejandro Lopez
  • Alessandro Cuoco
  • Anne Green
  • Annika Peter
  • Arman Esmaili Taklimi
  • Björn Herrmann
  • Bryan Zaldívar
  • Carl Niblaeus
  • Celine Boehm
  • Chad Finley
  • Chris Kelso
  • Christian Farnier
  • Christoph Weniger
  • Christopher McCabe
  • David Marsh
  • Dorota Sokołowska
  • Ernest Ma
  • Fabio Iocco
  • Felix Kahlhoefer
  • Jan Conrad
  • Jihn E. Kim
  • Joakim Edsjö
  • Jonathan Cornell
  • Julia Harz
  • Lars Bergström
  • Laura Lopez Honorez
  • Louis Strigari
  • Malcolm Fairbairn
  • Mathieu Boudaud
  • Mattia Fornasa
  • Michael Gustafsson
  • Miguel Pato
  • Mirko Boezio
  • Nassim Bozorgnia
  • Oscar Stål
  • Paolo Gondolo
  • Pearl Sandick
  • Per Osland
  • Pierre Salati
  • Riccardo Catena
  • Roberto Lineros
  • Roman Pasechnik
  • Sarah Andreas
  • Sebastian Wild
  • Sofia Sivertsson
  • Stefan Vogl
  • Subhendra Mohanty
  • Thomas Lacroix
  • Thomas Schwetz
  • Tim Linden
  • Timur Delahaye
  • Tommy Ohlsson
  • Torsten Bringmann