Oct 3 – 7, 2016
Nordita, Stockholm
Europe/Stockholm timezone


Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden


With the coming on-line of MAX IV as a world-leading synchrotron radiation facility it was realized that theory support would be essential to obtain maximum yield on this investment in experimental hardware. Thus, the Consortium for Theoretical X-ray Science (CoTXS) was formed with funding from the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation to develop theoretical tools and software to assist in the interpretation of the new experiments that become possible with MAX IV.

The network consists of four nodes with seven participating research groups:

  • Linköping University: Igor Abrikosov
  • Stockholm University: Lars G.M. Pettersson
  • Royal Institute of Technology (KTH): Patrick Norman, Hans Ågren, Yi Luo
  • Uppsala University: Olle Eriksson, Roland Lindh


The KAW funding covers 7 PhD students and several postdocs who have now been recruited. This network hence forms a natural platform for educational aspects of theoretical and experimental x-ray science. For this reason we organize a school with focus on state-of-the-art theory to describe different spectroscopies and scattering techniques. The school will be open and is expected to attract a large number of students from the Nordic countries as well as from elsewhere. Topics to be covered include fundamental aspects of light-matter interactions, second quantization, relativistic effects, vibrational spectroscopy, optical and x-ray spectroscopies, dynamical effects, electron spectroscopy techniques and high-energy scattering.

NOTE: The program can be found at the bottom of the page


  • Mark Casida, Grenoble: Time-Dependent Density Functional Theory (TDDFT)
  • Olle Eriksson, UU: Dynamical mean-field theory for correlations and XAS
  • Faris Gel’mukhanov, KTH: Quantum dynamics in scattering
  • Viktor Kimberg, KTH: Non-linear field effects
  • Roland Lindh, UU: Ab initio photo chemistry
  • Yi Luo, KTH: Light-matter interaction at the nanoscale
  • Anders Nilsson, SU: Experimental aspects of x-ray spectroscopy
  • Patrick Norman, KTH: Response theory for linear and nonlinear x-ray spectroscopies
  • Michael Odelius, SU: Computing Resonant Inelastic X-ray Scattering (RIXS)
  • Leonid Poyurovskii, LiU: Introduction to dynamical mean-field theory
  • Dirk Rehn, KTH: Algebraic Diagrammatic Construction scheme
  • John Rehr, University of Washington, USA: Multiple-scattering techniques, FEFF code
  • Jan-Erik Rubensson, UU: Introduction to RIXS
  • Andreas Scherz, XFEL: Non-linear X-ray - Matter Interaction with X-ray Lasers
  • Petr Slaviček, University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague: X-Ray Photodynamics and Theoretical Liquid Photoemission Spectroscopy
  • Morgane Vacher, UU: On-the-fly methods for non-adiabatic dynamics
  • Hans Ågren, KTH: Multiscale modelling of x-ray spectroscopy

Application (Deadline extended)

If you want to apply for participation in the school, please fill in the application form and, in addition, provide the information requested below (see NOTE). You will be informed by the organizers shortly after the application deadline whether your application has been approved. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is strictly limited. (Lecturers are of course automatically approved, but need to register anyway.)

NOTE: Please supply CV including personal statement (max 2 pages) to motivate participation in the school. PhD students and Postdoc fellows must also supply a statement from their current supervisor. These should be sent in PDF format to cotxsreg@gmail.com. Since the number of participants is limited, decision concerning participation will be made on a case-by-case basis and you will be notified shortly after the application deadline.

Application deadline: 16 September 2016

There is no registration fee.


Accommodation must be handled by the participants themselves. A list of suggested hotels and hostels is provided here.

Sponsored by:

Nordita Knut och Alice Wallenbergs Stiftelse CoTXS