Magnetic Reconnection in Plasmas

132:028 (Nordita, Stockholm)


Nordita, Stockholm

Andris Vaivads (Swedish Institute of Space Physics), Stefano Markidis (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Yuri Khotyaintsev (Swedish Institute of Space Physics), Åke Nordlund (Niels Bohr Institute)
Photos from the program - album 1, album 2


Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden


Magnetic reconnection is a fundamental multi-­scale plasma process responsible for plasma transport, plasma heating and acceleration of energetic particles in many astrophysical environments, ranging from planetary magnetospheres and solar wind to solar flares, accretion disk corona, and other astrophysical plasmas. The major goal of this program is to increase the knowledge about the magnetic reconnection process in astrophysical plasma environments based on synergies between the studies of magnetic reconnection remotely, in situ, in numerical simulations and in laboratories. In situ data from the recent ESA Cluster, NASA Themis and upcoming MMS (to be launched in March 2015) missions will result by autumn 2015 in unprecedented amount of data on multi-­scale properties of magnetic reconnection from all the characteristic plasma scales -­ from electron up to fluid scales. Numerical simulations have reached maturity that kinetic scale processes for realistic mass ratios can be simulated in high detail in three dimensional geometries allowing for a direct comparison of observational data and simulation results. There are similarly large development in reconnection studies based on remote and laboratory observations. Some of the fundamental questions to be addressed are particle acceleration in magnetic reconnection, magnetic reconnection onset and turbulent reconnection.

Reconnection workshop, 10-14 August 2015

An open workshop on the magnetic reconnection consisting of invited keynote lectures, contributed talks and posters.

Invited Speakers

  • Rumi Nakamura, Space Research Institute, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Merav Opher, Boston University
  • Masahiro Hoshino, Univeristy of Tokyo
  • Homa Karimabadi, University of California at San Diego
  • Nicolas Aunai, LPP
  • Laila Andersson, University of Colorado/LASP
  • Jörg Büchner, Max Planck Inst. f. Solar System Research
  • Paul Cassak, West Virginia University
  • Li-Jen Chen, University of New Hampshire
  • Andrey Divin, Swedish Institute of Space Physics
  • Gian Luca Delzanno, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Jonathan Eastwood, Imperial College London
  • Stefan Eriksson, University of Colorado/LASP
  • Klaus Galsgaard, Niels Borh Institute, University of Copenhagen
  • Martin Goldman, University of Colorado
  • Daniel Graham, Swedish Institute of Space Physics
  • Maria Hamrin, Umeå University
  • Heli Hietala, Imperial College London
  • Huishan Fu, Beihang University
  • Ivo Furno, EPFL
  • Tomas Karlsson, KTH
  • Alexander Lazarian, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Quanming Lu, University of Science and Technology of China
  • Vyacheslav Olshevsky, KU Leuven, University of Leuven
  • Nikolai Pogorelov, University of Alabama
  • Minna Palmrooth, FMI
  • Alessandro Retinò, LPP
  • Paolo Ricci, EPFL
  • Sergio Servidio, Department of Physics, University of Calabria
  • Mikhail Sitnov, JHU/APL
  • Jiayong Zhong, Beijing Normal University

School on data analysis and numerical simulations of reconnection, 5-10 August 2015

The school is aimed for junior researchers, where each day overview lectures are followed by hands on work with multi-spacecraft and numerical simulation data.

Extended stay program, 27 July - 10 August & 15-21 August 2015

This part consists of extended workshop-like work among the scientists on the chosen topics of interest. There are a series of seminars and overview lectures during this period. Due to space restrictions, the total number of participants is limited, we expect to be able to cover the travel and lodging support to selected participants (Nordita provides a limited number of rooms in the Stockholm apartment hotel BizApartments free of charge for accepted participants). A minimum stay of one working week is required. The deadline of applications to extended program has passed.

Travel support

PhD students and young Postdoc fellows are eligible for travel grants to participate in the program. If you are interested in such a grant, please mark the corresponding field in the application form, briefly summarize your interest in the program in the comments field, and indicate an estimation of your expected travel expenses. Since only a limited number of grants is available, decision concerning the grants will be made on a case-by-case basis and you will be notified shortly after the application deadline.


July 27 - August 10 Program Selected topics based on scientists participating
August 5 - 10 School Satellite in situ and numerical simulation data analysis
August 10 - 14 Workshop Magnetic reconnection
August 15 - August 21 Program Selected topics based on scientists participating


[Timetable - available from start of the program]

Sponsored by:

Nordita Swedish National Space Board Swedish Research Council

  • Alessandro Retino
  • Alex Lazarian
  • Alexandros Chasapis
  • Andrey Divin
  • Andris Vaivads
  • Antonella Greco
  • Axel Brandenburg
  • Bart Ripperda
  • Boris Gudiksen
  • Cecilia Norgren
  • Chris Elenbaas
  • Daniel Graham
  • Daniel Kagan
  • Dhrubaditya Mitra
  • Elin Eriksson
  • Elisabet Liljeblad
  • Fabien Widmer
  • Fabio Bacchini
  • Gian Luca Delzanno
  • Hantao Ji
  • Heli Hietala
  • Huishan Fu
  • Igor Rogachevskii
  • Ilja Honkonen
  • Ivo Furno
  • Jacob Trier Frederiksen
  • Jane Pratt
  • Jiayong Zhong
  • John Dorelli
  • Jonathan Eastwood
  • Jérémy Dargent
  • Jörg Büchner
  • Keizo Fujimoto
  • Kenichi Nishikawa
  • Klaus Galsgaard
  • Laila Andersson
  • Li-Jen Chen
  • Lorenz Roth
  • Love Alm
  • Luigi Cordaro
  • Maria Elena Innocenti
  • Maria Hamrin
  • Martin Goldman
  • Masahiro Hoshino
  • Mats André
  • Merav Opher
  • Mikhail Belyaev
  • Mikhail Sitnov
  • Minna Palmroth
  • Nicola Schlatter
  • Nicolas Aunai
  • Nikolai Pogorelov
  • Nobumitsu Yokoi
  • Paolo Ricci
  • Paul Cassak
  • Per-Arne Lindqvist
  • Philip Pritchett
  • Philippe-A. Bourdin
  • Pierre Henri
  • Quanming Lu
  • Rishi Mistry
  • Rongsheng Wang
  • Rumi Nakamura
  • Samuel Totorica
  • Sanni Hoilijoki
  • Sergio Servidio
  • Sergio Toledo Redondo
  • Shiyong Huang
  • Stefan Eriksson
  • Stefano Markidis
  • Suleiman Baraka
  • Tieyan Wang
  • Tomas Karlsson
  • Vadim Roytershteyn
  • Viggo Hansteen
  • Vyacheslav Olshevsky
  • Wenya LI
  • Xuehan Guo
  • Yann Pfau–Kempf
  • Yaqiong Liang
  • Yasuhito Narita
  • Yongcun Zhang
  • Yuri Khotyaintsev
  • Zakaria Meliani
  • Zazralt Magic
  • Åke Nordlund